COVID-19 Testing

The CARES Act requires that COVID-19 testing is covered without cost-sharing. This applies to all health insurance coverage in Minnesota. It is important to know that this applies to the test only, office visits are not covered through the CARES Act. Some insurance carriers have agreed to waive cost-sharing for in network visits associated with the COVID-19 test – it is important to check with your health insurance to find out what will be covered and what is in network.

If you have questions about your health insurance coverage call your insurance company prior to getting tested.

In-Person Testing Sites

Find a Testing Location

What Should I Know Before I Go?

Testing sites are designed to keep you and health care workers safe. Sometimes you may stay in your car. Other sites will screen you before you come indoors. All sites will require an appointment before you arrive in order to ensure they have collected your contact and insurance information. 

Essentia - All Locations

Contact Info: 218-829-2861
More Information:

Cuyuna Regional Medical Center

320 East Main Street
Crosby, MN 56441
Contact Info: 218-546-7000


340 West Washington Street
Brainerd, MN 56401
More Information:

At Home Testing Options

To order a test visit COVID-19 Test at Home.

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is offering free COVID-19 Test at Home saliva testing program. You can now order a COVID-19 saliva test online that will be shipped to your home, along with a prepaid package to return it.

When you are ready to take the test, you will log onto a website and do a video visit with a health care provider so they can give you instructions and make sure you do the test the right way. You then send the test to the lab in Oakdale, Minnesota, using the prepaid package. Once it arrives at the lab, you will get your test results by email as soon as 24-48 hours.

The saliva test is just as accurate as the nasal swab test and is also used at in-person COVID19 community saliva testing locations across the state.

  • The saliva tests checks whether you have COVID-19 right now and can spread it to others. It is not an antibody test that looks for whether you have had COVID-19 in the past.
  • Both adults and children can use these tests. An adult 18 or older must request a test for a child.
  • Saliva testing may not be right for those with low saliva production, such as children under age 4 or someone who has suffered a stroke.
  • Testing is free for every Minnesotan, whether or not you have insurance. If you do have insurance, you will need to provide your information so your insurance company can pay for your test. If your insurance does not pay for COVID-19 tests or does not pay enough, the state will cover the cost. If you do not have insurance, the state will pay for your test. You will not receive a bill.